Welsh Government

welsh governmentWales has its own government making policies and laws for our country. Headed by the First Minister of Wales, the Welsh Government is responsible for areas such as health, education, language and culture and public services.

The Welsh Government is separate from the British Government, which retains responsibility for UK-wide areas such as tax, defence, foreign policy and benefits.

What we do

The Welsh Government is elected by the people of Wales to carry out a programme of government. This involves making decisions and ensuring delivery on areas devolved to us on matters that affect people's daily lives (for details of the 20 devolved areas and their exceptions, see the Schedule 7 Related Link).

We do this by:

  • developing and implementing policies
  • setting up and directing delivery and governance in these key areas, such as local government and the NHS in Wales
  • making subordinate legislation (e.g. regulations and statutory guidance), and
  • proposing Welsh laws (Assembly Bills).


Who we are

The First Minister of Wales heads the Welsh Government. Together with Welsh Ministers and the Counsel General they form the Cabinet. Civil servants based in offices throughout Wales support them in developing and delivering their work.

The Government of Wales Act 2006 allows for the appointment of up to 12 Welsh Ministers and Deputy Ministers. This means that the maximum size of the Welsh Government is 14, including the First Minister and Counsel General.